OUT OF THE DARKNESS

PIGGY FAT AND PLUMP? BUT HEALTHY I AM!

How does it feel, when nothing heals…?
That day was unforgettable!! They broke a button of my skirt and claimed I am fat! It hurts.
I locked myself in my dark room.

As I sat there and thought about all days that passed by,
Tears brooked down my face and I began to cry.
I ran to the mirror with a fear because the world said my mirage won’t fit in it.

As soon as I appeared, I gawked at my reflection.
Clearing my misconception, the mirror got me rid of my masquerade.
But I blubbered, thought it was time to say good bye.
Can’t say I didn’t try.

But as the first glimmer of sunshine brushed my tear strained cheek, it awoke me.
The soft winds flic-flacked my hair and whispered, “You are one of your kind.”
These words filled me with pride.

I chafed my face and assured that I would hold my head high.
Piggy fat and plump but healthy I am.
I am a soul of pride.

_Khushboo Kar

2 thoughts on “OUT OF THE DARKNESS

Add yours

  1. Fab. Am proud of you though remember that a book is always judged by its cover.
    World’s a bad place you must know, just keep in mind as you grow.
    Shape and size must not be prime
    but the sad truth is …. being fat is surely a crime.
    Undoubtedly you are precious and one of a kind,
    But the world don’t care about our type.
    and that my child, is THE TRUTH OF LIFE.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑